Thinking about Studying Abroad?

The University of Essex offers an opportunity to study abroad for either one term or a whole year for any course that they offer. You can choose to do this either before you start or your course or during your course. Your time abroad would always be in your third year of studying and it requires you to return to the University of Essex for a fourth year to complete your degree (some people know this as a sandwich course).

I chose to study abroad in my second year of university. I chose to do it because I come from Essex and also study in Essex so I wanted to get out of the area to explore more and widen my knowledge of the world and different cultures. I travelled the year before in the summer holidays and loved it, therefore it made me want to travel more and studying abroad was an option which is also affordable.

I visited the study abroad office many times to discuss my options and they were extremely helpful! They discussed different countries with me and were very supportive. I finally decided that Australia would be the right country for me. They gave me a list of universities that the University of Essex have links with, so then I began my research.

Since I have been here I have made many new friends and had lots of new adventures. Alongside my studying I have managed to travel to parts of Australia as well which has been amazing!

IMG_8210

I would really recommend doing a year abroad if you want to step out of your comfort zone and try something new. Consider all the opportunities and costs before making your decision and make sure you research into the universities abroad before choosing!

Check out the link below if you’re thinking about studying abroad at Essex!

http://www.essex.ac.uk/essexabroad/

Leave a Reply

